Day 109 – accessories

Kicked off my first 5K run of the season outside today.  Perhaps my goal this year should be to learn to run outside in the winter.  My last run outside last year was October 30th as I only have late spring, summer and early fall clothing.  Perhaps I’ll do a learn to run program through the Running Room in the fall to find out how to dress.

DSCN8300

This was my route today. I love my Garmin watch!  It tells me my route, total time, lap times, distance, elevation, and even temperature.

I’m surprised how easy the 5K was considering I have been running sporadically on the treadmill.  I guess the cardio/ strength training DVD has kept me in better shape than I thought over the winter.  Well, I shouldn’t say easy…I know my muscles and old joints will be feeling it tomorrow. Maybe this year I will also get brave and start adding to my distance. The longest I have ever run is 7K….I usually just do 5.

In another couple of weeks it will be bright enough to get a run in before work….looking forward to having the streets to myself in the mornings.

J

Leave a comment